Proud

22 Sep

My daughter is still having issues with a few choice “friends” in the neighborhood. I was proud of her because yesterday she wanted to play with said “friend” and I told her to be back by a certain time. She comes home 20 minutes later. I thought the other friend had to eat dinner or needed to get a few things done. No that was not it. Instead this “friend” decided to hit my daughter on the head several times claiming there was a bug on her and they were doing this with a bit of force. Now that my daughter is in Tae Quan Do she has learned how to block a few hits. So I asked her if she blocked them. She said no that she just decided to leave because she was mad. Now I do understand that you want to leave because you might say or do something that you might regret later after you have a chance to cool down. That is why I am proud of her for being the bigger person. I of course felt the need to go have a talk with the “friend” by letting them know that I did appreciate them getting bugs off my daughter but, that I thought that maybe next time they try something a bit more gentle. I did not get an apology from this “friend” nor did I get one from their mother. Are we raising a bunch of self serving, cruel and bratty children who will grow up to be some awful person later in life? Sorry just ranting. I do wonder and fear that sometimes.
I did tell my daughter that this friend will at least for now always be a scorpion. If you remember the tale of the scorpion who wanted to cross a river but, had no way to get a cross except for the aid of a frog (there are other versions) and promised not to sting the frog so the frog allowed the scorpion on its back only to be stung in the middle of the stream. The frog asked why but, the scorpion replied it is in my nature. I told my daughter that this “friend” will be sweet one minute while she stings you the next. Perhaps this is unfair but, I do believe accurate at least for now.
I hope the next time a “friend” decides to hit my daughter that she blocks them. This is after all what and why she is in Tae Quan Do not that I am advocating violence.

Any thoughts?

Leave a Reply

