Unexpected expenses and other news

11 Dec

Some things have come up that I have just flat out needed.

For instance I spent a little over $100 for a new lightweight jacket that I could wear inside my house to help me stay warm before we got the new windows installed.

I needed new slippers since mine had holes.  Again needed something to help keep my feet warm.  I had also been needing some new ones since last year but, finally gave in and spent the money for new ones.  About $45 for them.

I also have had to recently get myself some new jeans.  I developed a hole in one pair that I am still currently wearing in the crotch area on the lower leg.  I thought I had an extra pair but, discovered that there were holes in the crotch area as well.  Now I only have my low rise jeans left and another pair.  I have yet to try on the low rise pair to see if they actually fit.  So I spent another $188 for two new pairs of jeans.

I also spent $950 for airline tickets to go see my dad this summer.  Since I booked early and with any luck my flight wont be cancelled or changed at the last minute.  Plus I wanted to go ahead and book for when my daughter is hopefully out of school.  If not, then I guess she will just miss a bit.

I have also managed to open mouth again and insert foot.  It has been bothering me for awhile now, see we still have so much stuff and no places to store it that I have decided to get rid of most of my stuff.  CDs and DVDs will be the first to go, then most of my books.  The reasons for doing this are because I am tired of people who come into my house asking if we are moving out or moving in, I have not used a lot of this stuff aka junk in 4+ years now, and I am really sick of having so much to pack up when we do move.  So this will with any luck alleviate most or some of this stress.  I also really thought long and hard about this and with the help of the Minimalists and their packing party.  It really helped to hit home what needs to change in my life and having less stuff to haul around and move is a good start.

I have also reassured my daughter that none of her stuff will be gotten rid of (at least for now).

Leave a Reply

