Mini World Traveler

30 May

Well my daughter wants to travel the world or at least she thinks she does.  She currently wants to go to Africa (mainly because her papaw might be going there this summer).  I am not knocking this idea but, I do want her to understand that she will have to sit in her seat for a very long flight depending upon where we decide to go.  

Plus there is that whole needing of passports.  I need one and she will need one.  Of course I am not positive if a 4 year old needs a passport if traveling with an adult.  Does anyone know if a minor aka youngster needs a passport?  

Perhaps before we travel the world or at least parts of the world together we might start small as in somewhere here in the US to visit and then work our way up.  Does anyone have any suggestions of a good place to take a tiny person?    I do not want to go to Disney so sorry for putting the kaibash on that one.  Too crowded and lots of kids which is not bad but, I have been there and hated the lines.  I really want to take her somewhere fun and educational yeah I know that may be a tall order.  Plus really want to get her used to flying if possible.  

What do you think of traveling with a 4 year old?  Do you think I should wait until she is a bit older to actually remember her trip or should I just go ahead and take her somewhere in the US?   

4 Responses to “Mini World Traveler”

  1. Richard June 1, 2013 at 08:31 #

    Yes, a baby and a toddler needs a passport. We’ve been in Argentina since our son was four months old. He now has dual citizenship, but we wouldn’t have gotten here without that passport.

  2. wickedfairy69 June 2, 2013 at 13:31 #

    Thanks a lot I really appreciate knowing that now all I need to do is go get it done.

  3. Sandra June 3, 2013 at 08:14 #

    When our kids were younger we would pick a place and just drag our kids. We always made sure they had time to decompress (putting a three year old in time-out in a strange city can be challenging). They are still great travelers. National parks are great. I’ve only been to Yellowstone and the Grand Canyon; both were amazing. Another option is Washington DC or maybe Boston. My parents visited Fort Smith Arkansas and said it was totally worth it. One thing we’ve leaned living overseas is that even the small towns have an interesting story to tell.

    • wickedfairy69 June 4, 2013 at 11:42 #

      Sandra thanks for the options Boston might be good since we are sort of close along with DC. We might just wind up visiting my dad in NE who knows. Thanks again for the suggestions they are great.

Leave a Reply

