Perfect

9 Apr

So what does it mean to be perfect?  Is it the Hollywood star we idolize, wish we could look like, lust after (Hugh Jackman leave a comment and then we can exchange phone numbers)  or does it run a bit deeper than just looks?  

For some it is having the perfect home filled with just and sometimes more than the “right stuff” while for others it is having the car of their dreams maybe a porche, jaguar, etc.  

What does it mean to you?  Do you even strive to be “perfect”?

I have tried to be perfect as in the perfect daughter for my parents.  It took me a long time to realize that I could and can never be what they really want in a daughter and that they will just have to get over it.  

I have even tried to be the perfect mom or at least the mom who yells a little less when needed.  Still not happening.  I realize that no matter what I do I can only raise my daughter with a few of my values and the best that I can.  She still may need therapy but, I am doing my best and I really think  and hope it is enough.  

I really do sometimes hate Hollywood for some of its messages that we as a society have been sucker punched or suckered into.  We revere what we see as perfect even though the stars still have their flaws and we need to see them as just people and just as imperfect as the rest of us are.  

We revere the young and beautiful even though youth and beauty fade away we all get cellulite, wrinkles and grey hair sooner rather than later.  We need to try and learn from our elders be it grandparents or even great grandparents they have a lot of experience behind them and lived and seen a lot of things we have not.  

 

Will I ever be perfect?  No but, that is ok with me.  Will I eventually get wrinkles and grey hair yup.  

Is it ok with you to not be perfect?  

Leave a Reply

