Spring has sprung

22 Mar

Image  as you might be able to see.  Spring has sprung at least on the inside.  My sunflowers are sprouting.  I am doing a mix of sunflowers for the birds and then the bee mix. 

 The weather outside is frightful.  We are having snow flurries and a bit of sticking.  Hello Mother Nature and Spring it is time to get with the program and wake up.  Arrrgh I am so tired of the cold, having to wear cold weather gear.  I do know that this shall pass I just wish it would be sooner rather than later. 

I still have not gotten my bouquet of flowers but, am excited that I will be getting something colorful.  

Yesterday aka Wednesday I decided to make a monthly donation of $5.00 to v-day.org.  It is an organization that fights against cruelty and rape of women and girls.  I know that it is not much but, I do hope that it will help.  Having a daughter I really want to see this end for every female.  I would love for my daughter to be able to tell her grand kids that rape and other cruelty towards women is a thing of the past but, it did happen.  It would be nice if this could end sooner rather than later.   

 Maybe next month I will donate to charity water which makes sure people have clean water to drink and we all could use that.  

In my previous post I did not mention who was the lucky recipient of the last gift.  It is a fellow vegan. I follow this persons blog and no we have never met.  This person is going thorough a rough patch right now and is being open and honest in their journey as they deal with this.  I did deliberate on what to get a fellow vegan.  I did think chocolates but, could not be certain that they would be vegan and did not want this person to be upset with me because they gained 5lbs or more.  So that was thrown out.  Then I thought of flowers.  Pretty yes but, they do tend to fade, and plus they might hate the bouquet or even be allergic to something that I do not know about.  Then I thought of the perfect gift that is vegan friendly a stuffed toy of a rabbit.    Why it is spring after all and will be nice and soft plus they will have 4 paws to rub for good luck.  The best part is if you remember the movie “Who Framed Rodger Rabbit” the lines “is that a rabbit in your pocket or are you just happy to see me?”  This way this person can say that yes they are happy to see people and thanks for asking that is a rabbit in my pocket.   Weird I know but, Rodgers whole purpose was to make people laugh and if I can at least get a good chuckle out of this person my job is done. 

 Why would I go out on a limb so to speak and send a complete stranger or at least someone I have never met a gift.  Honestly I guess it is because this disease can affect all women and we are all connected no matter where we live, what languages we speak,  how much we earn in a day, year or lifetime.  Most of the same things and problems affect all of us at one time or another.  

 This is not me trying to justify why I do certain things but, most not all people would not send a gift to a stranger.  

Leave a Reply

