Epiphany

18 Mar

I just finished reading “Insecure at Last: Losing it in our security obsessed world” by Eve Ensler.  I read the whole book in less than 24 hrs.  I will forever be thankful for my friend Tiffany Cox for introducing me to her work when I got to see the Vagina Monologues performed at our local University.  I have loved the Vagina Monologues, I am an Emotional Creature and the Good Body.  This book is very deep and you will need a box of tissues if you read this one.  She covers Clitoral Mutilation in Africa, women being murdered in Cuidad Juarez and what has been happening to the women in Iraq and Afghanistan and other topics.  It is very deep, touching, makes me angry, and profound in my opinion work.  

While reading this I had an epiphany of sorts.  My epiphany was that I have always wanted to create something beautiful and somewhat awe inspiring and then it hit me that I have already done this.  Nothing like what Michelangelo did creating “David or the Sistine Chapel” or even Botticelli’s “Birth of Venus”.  What I have created was not made with ink, paint,  wood, brick, or marble.  What I created is beautiful, smart, funny, stubborn, has a mind of her own, has the ability to grow not only physically but, emotionally.  It is my daughter. In her I have seen my grandmother who I can no longer smell, laugh with, see, touch or taste her food.  I have seen my great aunt again another person who I can no longer do the above with but, they are there in her smile and in certain looks that she gives me if only for an instant too fast to be captured on film.  I think that they somehow live inside her these people and perhaps in a way they are and I hope that they pass on their advice and wisdom as well if possible.   I also firmly believe that all humans have this need and maybe even desire to create something anything even if it lasts for an instant.  Parents create some of the most beautiful thing or things and that is every child.   Children are our future, hope and our creation.  They are what we strive for and hope to make the world a better, safer, more secure and kinder place.  

 Compared to what I have created my blog is insignificant and will probably never last.  Children are forever and they deserve our kindness, respect, to be gentle with,  and understanding.  

Leave a comment